Tune in, turn off

Is it any wonder that I go through long periods of completely ignoring social networking and commentary forums on the net?

There are constant examples of people, on both sides of issues, verbally vomitting their gut reactions when presented with something contrary to their political beliefs, without giving adequate thought to the whole topic, or consideration for the writer. My current bout of depression, for example, is due to what appears to have become an annual row over the Science fiction and Fantasy Writers of America and whether certain members are mysoginist, bigoted, women haters, or whether they’re allowed to speak their mind, even when their comments are unpopular.

And that’s all I’m going to say on the issue. Because I had been writing something much longer, but I realized it was turning in to a rant. And then I tried again, and it turned into another rant.

Fortunately, I had to take my daughter to school and the appropriate time and space gave me a chance to reflect.

So all I really want to add to this issue is the notion of respecting others. We don’t need to share every perceived slight in the open forums of the internet. And not all perceived wrongs are actual wrongs. There are real issues and there are perceived issues and then there’s the internet, where they all blend together. While the net is a wonderful device, I fear that it causes too much division among society, as everyone with a connection rages against any and all perceived slights, or even just things that bug them about society (and yes, I am aware of the irony of this statement).

So here’s my own internet law (at least, I haven’t seen it stated anywhere else):

For every opinion, there is an equal and opposite opinion.

And I spend too much time and energy getting sucked into issues that I don’t want or need to worry about. So that’s all from me. Be nice and surf safe.

Insight and longevity.

Leave a Reply

