Posted in Neural Spasm, Reading List, Writing

Review: The Artwork of Guy Erma and the Son of Empire

Awrk 06The Artwork of Guy Erma and the Son of Empire by Sally Ann Melia (pen name of Sally Dickson) and the SugarBricks Studio of Belgrade, is a companion to the YA space opera trilogy of similar name.

At 59 pages long, The Artwork of Guy Erma and the Son of Empire provides many visual tasters for the novels, including character, creature, and setting designs. These are interspersed with relevant clips from the novels as well as commentary from author and artists on the design concepts.

Although the artwork in this book is high quality, I found the book to be more interesting as both an insight into the creative process of ‘bringing to life’ a vision that otherwise only exists in someones head and in terms of a marketing tool for publicizing the original series. In the current era of ‘anyone can publish anything’ an author must constantly be looking for interesting ways to bring attention to their work and, it seems to me, that Sally Ann Melia has not been shirking in this area.

My only complaint about the book is that I wish there was more artwork. As a teaser, it may have done its job too well, as I was left wanting to see more – especially in regards to interesting settings. After all, the story is a space opera and that implies a universe of amazing sights. It would have be nice to see a few more.

Regardless, I’m sure this book will be a welcome addition to the series for fans and a useful introduction for those wondering whether to explore the series. I have not yet read the YA trilogy myself, however, this book has piqued my interest enough that I have included the novels on my reading list.

Author:

I'm a writer, publisher, digital artist and web designer. As chief editor of Utility Fog Press I've been responsible for the publication of three anthologies.

Leave a Reply

